2019 recipient of Earl D. Irons Program of Distinction

Rich Armstrong, Director of Bands Waxahachie High School; Paul Worosello, , Phi Beta Mu International
[l to r:] Richard Armstrong, Director of Bands, Waxahachie High School; Paul Worosello, Phi Beta Mu International
photo: Robert James Cesario

One band was selected as recipient of the Earl D. Irons Program of Distinction in the third year of the award. Congratulations to:

Waxahachie High School, Waxahachie, Texas
Richard Armstrong, Director

This outstanding band program was recognized and celebrated during the Midwest Clinic [December 17-21, 2019] at the Phi Beta Mu Awards Breakfast.


The Phi Beta Mu Earl D. Irons Program of Distinction is open to all high school band programs. Director must have been at that program for at least the previous five years.

Any Phi Beta Mu member may nominate one program. The initial nomination occurs in confidence with the Director unaware of the nomination, just as a potential member is nominated for membership to a state/province chapter.

Bands may be nominated at any time up to April 30 of the current academic year.

Name of nominated program, director and contact information is sent to Paul Worosello: (worosell@swbell.net) who, within a week, will notify director of the nomination by sending a letter of congratulations and information on how to proceed. Bands are under no obligation to act upon the nomination.

For more information visit: Earl D. Irons Program of Distinction.

[Please note that members must log in first.]