Lambda Iota Chapter | Ontario, Canada

  • Founded: August 1998 with 7 members. Established by Dennis Beck [inducted into Mu Alpha chapter in 1986 in Edmonton, Alberta]
  • Charter members: Dennis Beck, President; John Phillips, Vice President; Keith Kinder; William Thomas; Susan Barber Kahro; Robert Kruger; Gillian MacKay

Current membership:

  • 23 active members
  • Initiation of 35+ members


  • During Ontario Music Educators Association annual conference [November]
  • Occasional meetings during York University Conductors Symposium
  • Frequent summer social gatherings


  • Conducting composition for new band works by young composers
  • Fostering professional development in the province through our direct involvement with Unionville and York University annual Wind Conductors Symposia
  • Commissioning composers to write new band music
  • Honoring three iconic band musicians who were fundamental in building bands in Ontario: 
    –Donald Coakley [composer, teacher, administrator]
    –Stephen Chenette [university professor, educator]
    –Donald McKellar [university conductor, administrator]

Past Guests:
Keith Mann; Van Ragsdale; Richard Crain; PBM International Past President Sheryl Bowhay [initiated into Lambda Iota Chapter in 2001]