Nu Chapter Honors and Awards

Nu Chapter was established in 1959 with twelve charter members including Richard L. Camp, James Caruso, Charles W. Coleman, Peter Cortese, Dr. James Dunlop, Paul A. Harner, Arlington Kahley, Dr. Stanely F. Michalski, Jr., Vetold W. Sporny, Dr. Maurice Taylor, Fred Williams, and Isaiah Zimmerman. Since that time, Nu chapter has honored many of the fine bandmasters who have held membership in the organization, and recognize outstanding contributors whose actions have been consistent with the goals of the fraternity. As the group looks to the future of music education, Nu Chapter now offers a future band director scholarship for high school seniors across the Keystone State.

Phi Beta Mu – Nu Chapter
Outstanding Bandmaster Award 

In 1969, Dr. James Dunlop was the first recipient of the Phi Beta Mu Nu Chapter Outstanding Bandmaster Award. Since that time many of the brothers and sisters have joined him in being recognized for their outstanding efforts in the rehearsal room, marching band field, and concert hall. For a complete list the Nu Chapter Recipients of the Outstanding Bandmaster Award, please click here.

Phi Beta Mu – Nu Chapter
Outstanding Contributors

In addition to the many fine band directors recognized, Nu Chapter has also been fortunate to have the support and contributions of others in instrumental music education. The efforts of these individuals have positively contributed and supported bands across the state of Pennsylvania. We have recognized the following Outstanding Contributors:

1990 Nuncy DiIanni
1993 C. Dean Streator
1994 Bill Zeswitz
1999 Amanda DeVoe
2014 Diane Meyers
2022 Scott Watson

In 2015 Nu Chapter established “Lifetime Achievement Award” to recognize a member’s lifetime body of work in instrumental music from a holistic career perspective. To that end, the Award welcomed the Inaugural Class of Lifetime Achievement Award recipients at our annual meeting in March of 2015 in Hershey, Pa. The inagural Lifetime Achievement Class include Col. Jere Fridy, Arlington “Art” Kahley, Dr. Otis Kitchen, Dr. Stanley Michalski, and Robert F. Zellner. For an expanded biography of each of the recipients, please click here.