This is a Test

We are starting a new era in MuAlpha with a new Editor for the web news.

Check back soon to see the site updated — sorry for the delay.

Pictured above is Sister Jayne Montgomery receiving the 2016 Peterkin Award from committee chair Brother Glen Traquair.

Harry Pinchin inducted into the MuAlpha Hall of Fame May 2, 2016


(l-r) Armand Baril, Rita Burns, Rob Speers, Ray Baril, Harry Pinchin, Fordyce Pier, Larry Schrum

On Music Monday May 2, 2016 Harry Pinchin was inducted into the PhiBetaMu-MuAlpha Hall of Fame.  The presentation was made by MuAlpha Board Member and PhiBetaMu International Past President Sheryl Bowhay during the New Edmonton Wind Sinfonia concert, “Invitation to the Dance”.

Many of the MuAlpha “old guard” were in attendance: HARRY PINCHIN, Barry Valleau, Frank Dunnigan, Larry Schrum, Rita Burns, Tommy Banks, Armand Baril, Mike Achtymichuk, Neil Corlett, Joyce Houdle, Rob Speers, Roy Townend, Ray Baril, Duke Pier, Darwin Krips, Roberta Baril, Doug Zimmerman.

Please read more about Harry Pinchin and the presentation of the Hall Of Fame award on page 5 of the May/Spring edition of the PhiBetaMu International Newsletter which can be found on the PhiBetaMu International Website at and click on Newsletter.

MuAlpha NYB Scholarship 2016

MuAlpha Youth Band Jarett Jacobs 20162016 MuAlpha National Youth Band Scholarship recipient Jarett Jacobs (right) is presented with a cheque for $300 by MuAlpha Secretary Kirk Wassmer (left). Jarett plays TUBA and is in his second year of the Bachelor of Music Program at the University of Lethbridge. Jarett plays in the University of Lethbridge Wind Orchestra, as well a brass quintet, a low brass ensemble, a university brass choir, and a community brass choir. Jarett Jacobs is an alumni of the Didsbury High School Band Program under the direction of Brother Kirk Wassmer.

Peterkin Award 2015


Traquair receives Peterkin 2015Barry Presents

Pictured above (left) is Brother Glen Traquair, the recipient of the 2015 MuAlpha Peterkin Award. The award was presented by Awards Chairman, Brother Barry Valleau (right) during the MuAlpha AGM held in conjunction with the Alberta Music Conference at the Red Deer College Cornerstone on October 23.

Past President Pin Awarded

Past President Pin ShermanPast Past President Brother Earl Paddock (left) presents Past President Brother Steve Sherman with the Past President’s Pin during the MuAlpha AGM held in conjunction with the Alberta Music Conference at the Red Deer College Cornerstone on October 23.

National Youth Band of Canada Scholarship

Phi Beta Mu – Mu Alpha Chapter provides an annual scholarship in the amount of $300 to an Alberta student that has applied to and been accepted into the National Youth Band of Canada.  All accepted Alberta students are candidates for the Phi Beta Mu Scholarship.

Interested students may apply directly to the Secretary of Phi Beta Mu – Mu Alpha Chapter at <> .

For more information, please download the following document:

NYB Scholarship PBM-MA