Kappa Theta Chapter History

The Minnesota chapter of Phi Beta Mu- Kappa Theta- was officially chartered on September 24th, 1968 at the Inn Towne Motel in Minneapolis.  It became the 29th chapter of Phi Beta Mu and was installed by the Wisconsin Pi chapter.  The first meeting of the chapter was held during the MEA Convention on October 24, 1968.

Kappa Theta charter members were Earl Bohm, Willard Budnick, Miles Johnson, Al Opland, George Regis, Paul Storti, Orel Vangen, and Jim Wheeler.  Miles Johnson was elected president.  The first formal business meeting was held in Moorhead, Minnesota on April 27, 1969.  It was determined that annual meetings would be held in conjunction with the annual Minnesota Music Educators Association convention.  This format continues to this day.

[Minnesota Homepage]