Chapter News – Psi Chapter (KY)

Marching Arts Intensive June 15-17, 2022 by Lois Wiggins In our long-standing tradition of supporting and mentoring young Band Directors, I am excited to report our 2022 Partnership with the Conn-Selmer Institute and Marching Arts Intensive event for the summer of 2022! Conn-Selmer offered our members significant discounts for registration: $100 off in-person CSI, MAI,

Installation of New York Chapter

Chi Chapter Installment

In the short time of less than three months, an inquiry regarding how to start a Phi Beta Mu (PBM) Chapter resulted in the installation of the Chi Chapter of Phi Beta Mu in New York! Due in part to the connections made while judging and serving as a clinician across the United States, Beth

2019 recipient of Earl D. Irons Program of Distinction

The Phi Beta Mu Earl D. Irons Program of Distinction is open to all high school band programs. Director must have been at that program for at least the previous five years. Any Phi Beta Mu member may nominate one program. The initial nomination occurs in confidence with the Director unaware of the nomination, just

Phi Beta Mu Reaches Out to International Band Scene

The Phi Beta Mu Board of Directors has created an International Assistance Fund (IAF) to provide assistance to school/community bands in foreign countries. Funding is to be used for supplies or classroom equipment purchased locally in the foreign country or, for assistance in the transport, shipping, or mailing of items. Awards will not exceed $500 to any

Phi Beta Mu Awards

The International Board of Phi Beta Mu commends all members of our profession for their dedication and inspiration during the challenges of the past year. Due to the pandemic, we will make the presentation to our 2020 award winners at the 2021 Midwest Clinic

PBM Elections 2021

Congratulations to the new officers for the International Board. June Bearden (Alpha Chapter) will retain her position on the Board of Directors and Lois Wiggins (Psi Chapter) won the other open position on the board. Keith Rudolph (Gamma Chapter) will be the new Vice President/President Elect. All will begin their three-year term on January 1, 2022.

2022 Commission Project

Carol Brittin Chambers

Carol Brittin Chambers Composer, owner of Aspenwood Music The Executive Board of Phi Beta Mu is dedicated to promoting quality music for the wind band by commissioning new literature that contributes to the existing band repertoire for all grade levels as we work to build better bands.  We are pleased to announce that we have

Find us on Facebook


Join our private Facebook group  and the NEW Public page! We are continuing our Phi Beta Mu Facebook group for the membership – this is a private group, for members only. The private group page serves many purposes related to fraternity business, communication, idea sharing, announcements and events. Only Phi Beta Mu members are granted access, and only

February 2022

Xi (Illinois) member Roosevelt Griffin was recently awarded the John LaPorta Jazz Educator of the Year Award. Mu (Ohio) member Nancy Ditmer has been called into service at Ashland University to help out a director serving a medical deployment with the Ohio National Guard. Rho (Alabama) Chapter President Dr. Rusty Courson was given the honor

October 2021

A great musical tribute to Rho (Alabama) member James E. Champion, retired band director from Florence City Schools! Alpha (Texas) member Jeff Whitaker is celebrating new uniforms for the Permian band that combine tradition and new technology. Kappa Theta (Minnesota) member Leon Sieve has the Rosemount Band back with a successful competition season. Delta (Mississippi)