Alpha Gamma Chapter | North Dakota, USA

  • Founded: 2003
  • Charter Members: Rochelle Feldner; Kenneth D. Hoerth; William Eckroth; Verlene Hagen; Randy C. Hall; Cheryl Larson Croonquist; Lucia Jacobson; Steven Sudduth; Nancy K. Olson; Warren D. Olfert; Selmer Spitzer; William J. Schmidt; Joseph T. Alme; Keith Traquiar; Sigurd Johnson; Garth J. Allmaras; David Torbert; Thomas E. Wood; James Popejoy; Susan German; Bruce Morlock
  • First Meeting: October 24, 2003 in Grand Forks
  • First Officers: Dr. Elmer Spitzer, President; Tom Wood, Vice-President; Nancy K. Olson, Secretary; Joseph T. Alme, Treasurer

Current Membership

  • 36 Active; 10 Retired-Active; 2 Inactive; 6 Retired-Inactive

Annual Business Meeting

  • March at ND All-State Band, Choir & Orchestra Festival and  NDMEA Convention

Awards Given

  • Outstanding High School Senior Band Student Award
  • $1,000 Scholarship to a NDHS student going into Instrumental Music Education and attending a ND College or University (money donated by the state’s four major music stores)


  • Annual monetary donation to help fund band headliner at each NDMEA Conference
  • Annual monetary donation to JH ND All-State Honor Band Festival
  • Presentation of sessions by chapter members at annual NDMEA Conference
  • Commissioning of new works for band
  • Donations to replace items lost in a fire
  • Support of the International Music Camp at International Peace Gardens

Chapter Traditions

  • Annual Meeting: Breakfast meeting each year; photos of new and current members
  • Informal, social meeting in summer at member’s lake home
  • Chapter newsletter