Gamma Chapter | Indiana, USA

  • Charter granted: 1946
  • First meeting: 1953. Since then, Gamma Chapter has initiated 228 members. Chapter was organized by Harold Walters, who became an early honorary member of Phi Beta Mu.
  • Charter members: Merle Bucklew; Frank Cofield; Carroll Copeland; Charles Henzie; Nilo Hovey; Roy Johnson; Col. Herbert B. Laswell; Dr. Newell H. Long; Clarence Marocco; William Marocco; Donald Minix; Ben Niles; Bazil O’Reilley; Joseph Owens; Maurice Shadley; Claude B. Smith; Al Stodden; George Vaught; Dalton Wicker
  • First officers: Maurice Shadley, President; Bazil O’Reilley, Vice President; Frank Cofield, Secretary/Treasurer

Current Membership:

  • 76 active; 36 retired active; 11 retired active/chapter; 5 honorary

Annual Meeting:

  • First Saturday of December in the Indianapolis area for business meeting and luncheon
  • Attendance at meetings averages 75.

Awards Given:

  • Hall of Fame and Outstanding Bandmaster Awards presented at Indiana Bandmasters Association All-State Band Concert in March

Chapter Traditions:

  • A golf outing is held each summer.
  • Our flower/memorial fund is supported by ‘fining’ members who forget to wear their pins.

Current Projects:

  • Mentoring for 1st year and young directors
  • Podium exchange between members