Iota Chapter | Kansas, USA

  • Chartered: 1957
  • Charter Members: James Kerr; Dean B. Owen; Lewis E. Hiigel; Wendell Hodges; H.G. Palmer; Marlin Billings; Howard Harms; Leslie R. Marks; Kenneth Thompson; Don Threlkeld
  • First Meeting: November 8, 1957 Wichita, Kansas
  • First Officers: James Kerr, President; Dean B. Owen, Vice President; Lewis E. Hiigel, Secretary-Treasurer
    Board Members: Wendel Hodges; H.G. Palmer
    First Initiates: Don Bailey; Wyatt Cooper; Lyle Dilley; Nelson King

Current Membership

  • 138 on roster  [90 active; 48 retired]

Annual Business Meeting

  • July, Wichita, KS at Kansas Bandmasters Association Annual Convention
  • Also meets at KMEA Convention in February


  • The Chapter presents one scholarship annually to a Kansas college or university junior or senior music Education major who is in a program to become a band director.

Visit Iota Chapter website.