Omicron Chapter | Arkansas, USA

  • Founded:  1960
  • Charter Members: Jon Barbarotto; J. Raymond Brandon; Wendell Evanson; Bill Shaver; Homer Brown; W. Frances McBeth

Current Membership

  • 165 active members

Annual Business Meeting

  • Annual Arkansas Bandmasters Convention in Fort Smith, Arkansas (or Little Rock on alternating years). 2015’s meeting is was July 31.

Awards Given

  • Hall of Fame
    -Newest member: William Clark, inducted February 2015 at Arkansas All-State Music Convention
  • Young Band Director of the Year: presented at the Arkansas Bandmasters Convention
    -2015 recipient: Tim Hendrix of Bentonville High School
  • Arkansas Outstanding Contributor to Band Award
    -2015 recipient: Tommy Poe, Arkansas School Band Services for many years of service to Arkansas band directors


  • Sponsoring of mentoring project for new directors
  • Commissioning of new works
  • Planned projects: Creation of lasting memorials through awards or scholarships to honor some of our distinguished members who have recently passed away

Donations made annually:

  • J. Raymond Brandon New Director Scholarship Fund
  • Arkansas Bandmasters Convention to sponsor in-service clinics for state band directors